BorgWarner Presents Trophy To Indianapolis 500 Winner Tony Kanaan - Engine Builder Magazine
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel

Engine News

BorgWarner Presents Trophy To Indianapolis 500 Winner Tony Kanaan


Following the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500, BorgWarner
President and CEO James Verrier presented Tony Kanaan with the
Borg-Warner Trophy in Victory Lane. Tony Kanaan ‘s sterling silver image
will be the 100th added to the prestigious and historic trophy, joining
every winner of the "Greatest Race in History."

Click Here to Read More


"The Borg-Warner Trophy symbolizes a long tradition of achievement,
competitive performance and technology leadership at the Indianapolis
500. That same spirit propels BorgWarner to create the innovative
technologies drivers around the world enjoy today," said Verrier. "After
logging 212,000 miles without incident in our first year as the
exclusive supplier in the IZOD IndyCar Series, BorgWarner’s EFR
turbochargers are again boosting every car in the field. We are proud to
be a vital part of the traditions and future of the Indianapolis 500."


BorgWarner says its EFR ("Engineered For Racing") turbochargers offer an
unprecedented combination of advanced technologies designed to boost
the performance of downsized engines while improving fuel economy. EFR
turbochargers built specifically for the IZOD IndyCar Series feature
low-weight Gamma-Ti turbine wheels and shaft assemblies for quick boost
response. Patent-pending ceramic ball bearings increase thrust capacity
and durability while improving turbine efficiency at low expansion
ratios. In addition, the investment cast stainless steel turbine housing
increases efficiency, improves durability and resists corrosion.
BorgWarner’s EFR turbochargers established a reputation for powerful
performance, durability and dependability at numerous world-class
endurance races last year, including the Indianapolis 500, Petit Le
Mans, 12 Hours of Sebring and 24 Hours of Le Mans.



About the Borg-Warner Trophy

The Borg-Warner Trophy features the sterling silver image of every
Indianapolis 500 winner dating back to Ray Harroun in 1911. In 1924 and
1941, two drivers shared the victory, one for starting the race and the
other for finishing it. In tribute to his rejuvenation of the track and
Indianapolis 500 following World War II, a 24-karat gold portrait of
late Speedway Owner and President Anton "Tony" Hulman, Jr., was added in
1988. Tony Kanaan’s image will be the 100th to be added to the
Borg-Warner Trophy, which will not be filled to capacity until 2034.



Made of 110 pounds of sterling silver and standing 5 feet, 4-3/4 inches
tall, the trophy originally cost $10,000 and is currently valued at $3.5
million. The Borg-Warner Trophy stays on permanent display at the
Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. To give the winner and
team owners a personal keepsake of their victory, BorgWarner established
the BorgWarner Championship Driver’s Trophy (also known as the "Baby
Borg") in 1988 and the BorgWarner Team Owner’s Trophy in 1998. Both are
sterling silver replicas of the Borg-Warner Trophy.


Engine Builder Magazine