SEMA Hall of Fame Names Three New Members - Engine Builder Magazine

SEMA Hall of Fame Names Three New Members

Donnie Eatherly, Ed Pink and Chris Thomson will be inducted into the SEMA Hall of Fame. The new members will be recognized as part of the festivities during the SEMA Installation & Gala, Friday, July 20, at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City in Los Angeles.

Donnie Eatherly, Ed Pink and Chris Thomson will be inducted into the SEMA Hall of Fame. The new members will be recognized as part of the festivities during the SEMA Installation & Gala, Friday, July 20, at the Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City in Los Angeles. They represent an accomplished group of leaders who have shaped and inspired the automotive specialty-equipment market.

Ed Pink: For more than 60 years, Ed Pink Racing Engines has helped legendary racers set records and win championships. And while that alone is reason to honor “The Old Master,” it’s his dedication, innovation and contribution to the industry that sets him apart from all the others. Like many in the industry, Pink’s first job was at a gas station, which led to a career that had him working alongside industry pioneers, such as Lou Baney, Ed Iskenderian and the Edelbrock family. He opened his first shop in 1957 and built engines used in virtually every avenue of motorsports, including drag racing, midgets, stock cars, Indy cars and even IMSA, Le Mans and the Baja 1000. Although Pink sold his original business about 10 years ago, he continues to consult and actively supports programs, such as the SEMA Scholarship Foundation. He is a member of the Motorsports Hall of Fame in Detroit, Don Garlits International Drag Racing Hall of Fame and the Super Stock Hall of Fame.

Donnie Eatherly: The automotive specialty-equipment industry has a unique distribution channel, with products moving from manufacturer to distributor to jobber/retailer. Equally unique is Donnie Eatherly’s career. From sales, inventory management, marketing, and managing capital, resources and people, Eatherly has worked in all areas of the industry and has a broad perspective of every aspect involved. He, along with his father, founded one of the first and longest-running speed shops in the mid-Tennessee area. His unique experience has helped him to effectively champion many important industry initiatives, including youth engagement, legislative involvement, data standardization and vehicle technology. He is among the industry’s more active volunteers, having served on the SEMA Board of Directors, SEMA Political Action Committee and various SEMA councils and task forces.

Chris Thomson: Before joining TMG Group earlier this year, Chris Thomson worked at leading industry brands, including Baer Brakes Systems, Airaid/K&N Filter Co., Holley Performance Products and FlowTech Exhaust Co. For more than 40 years, he held coveted executive positions in those organizations and played a key role in the companies’ successes. However, it is his selfless dedication to the industry as a whole that makes him stand out from others. Having served numerous times on the SEMA Board of Directors, as well as on several councils, committees and task forces, Thomson is often described as a “mentor” and an “advocate.” He is at the forefront of every key industry initiative, and he champions others to get involved. Thomson was honored in 2006 as the PWA Person of the Year—the same year that the company he worked for, Airaid Filter Co., received the PWA Manufacturer of the Year award. Look to any industry event, whether it be the SEMA Show, Installation & Gala or a Town Hall meeting, and you’ll find Thomson pushing for greater industry involvement and supporting key causes.

For additional details about the SEMA Hall of Fame and the inductees over the years, visit For more information about the SEMA Installation & Gala, visit

You May Also Like

Women with Drive Event Planned for 2024 Pikes Peak

Women with Drive event will feature a panel discussion and reception at the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Museum in Colorado Springs on June 21.

Women in Motorsports North America (WIMNA) and Parity, the sports marketing and sponsorship platform dedicated to closing the gender income and opportunity gap in professional sports, have announced the latest edition of their collaborative event series Women with Drive: Pikes Peak, presented by RBC Wealth Management. The event will celebrate that for the first time in history, the PPIHC will feature six women drivers: Mary Barker, Ryan Cheek, Laura Hayes, Katherine Legge, Kathryn Mead, and Loni Unser. 

Virginia Disassociates from California Emissions Standards and ICE Ban

Elected in 2021, Youngkin campaigned on repealing California’s standards and pledged to follow through during his 2023 State of the Commonwealth address.

Babcox Media Appoints Tom Pecka Director of Strategic Partnerships

Pecka will oversee the development and execution of strategic media partnerships and sponsorships, as well as enhance media activations across the company’s media channels.

Mazak Celebrates 50 Years of Manufacturing in Kentucky

Mazak technology, service and support has helped manufacturers overcome their toughest challenges for the past 50 years and will continue to do so well into the future.

SEMA Battle of the Builders Enters Second Decade of Competition

Now in its 11th year, SEMA Battle of the Builders is a vehicle competition providing an international platform for SEMA Show builders to showcase their ingenuity.

Other Posts

Pat Symonds Joins Andretti’s Formula 1 Effort

Symonds most recently served as chief technical officer for Formula 1 and will officially join Andretti Cadillac at its new Silverstone, England operations.

NTPA’s Hot Shot’s Secret Challenge is Back for a Second Season

The NTPA’s Hot Shot’s Secret Challenge gives competitors a chance at over $30,000 in payout to the top three-point earners per division.

Sunnen Earns President’s E Star Award for Third Time

Sunnen was one of 13 entities to receive the E Star Award for a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports.

Charlotte Motor Speedway Names Greg Walter President

Walter oversees daily operations of the facility, which includes the 1.5-mile superspeedway, the zMAX Dragway, and The Dirt Track at Charlotte.