Race Engine Challenge Crowns Greg Brown Dyno Champ - Engine Builder Magazine

Race Engine Challenge Crowns Greg Brown Dyno Champ

Greg Brown, Hammerhead Performance Engines, Snellville, GA, captured the inaugural Race Engine Challenge trophy with his smallblock Ford Hemi engine.

The inaugural American Iron 2-valve Shootout Race Engine Challenge, presented by VP Fuels and Lubricants, held October 2-6, 2018 in Charlotte, NC, featured 12 engine builders from across the United States putting their most creative builds against each other in a dyno racing competition. Following five days of competition,  Greg Brown, Hammerhead Performance Engines, Snellville, GA, was crowned the victor of the  2018 Race Engine Challenge with a score of 1634 with his smallblock Ford Hemi.

Final Scores are:

Canted/Hemi Final Scores

1634 Ford Hemi – Greg Brown, Hammerhead Performance Engines
1582 GEN III Hemi – Carlo Aghbashian, Raceheads & Dyno Geeks
1579 Cleveland – Ron Stanislawczyk, RCS Racing Engines
1554 SB2 – Darrick Vaseleniuck, Vaseleniuck Engine Development
1513 SB2 – Buck Hinkle Performance Engines

In Line Valve Final Scores

1549 SBM – Jack Barna, Valley Performance
1548 Olds – Nick Vaseleniuck, Vaseleniuck Engine Development
1442 LS Hybrid – Jammie Wells, WCH Racing
1435 SBC – Jammie Wells, WCH Racing
1370 SBM – Corey Short
1362 Pontiac – Len Caverly, Len Caverly & Sons
1332 Olds – Dale Robinson, Robinson Analytical Limited
*SVO/C3 – Randy Malik, RM Competition

Randy Malik had a score of 1623. Upon tear down, however, his reverse dome pistons were not what he thought and it pushed him just over the compression limit, according to technical officials.

The five-day event featured multiple dyno runs per day on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday, with the two top engines battling each other on Saturday, as well as an interactive technical conference for participants and guests.

Engine Builder magazine is the official media partner of the 2018 Race Engine Challenge. Look for more information about the contest and all the competitors in the November issue of Engine Builder.


You May Also Like

2025 Daytona 500 Logo Unveiled

Logo pays tribute to iconic Harley J. Earl trophy presented to winner of The Great American Race.

Daytona International Speedway has unveiled the 2025 Daytona 500 logo, paying tribute to the design roots of speed as it features the iconic Harley J. Earl Trophy front and center. Variations of Harley J. Earl awards were presented to Daytona 500 champions for decades. But, it wasn’t until 1998 that the modern Harley J. Earl Trophy featuring Earl’s Firebird I concept automobile, hand-sculpted by artist John Lajba, atop a black trioval base, was presented in Victory Lane.

SEMA Names Ryan Stutzman as New CFO

Stutzman replaces current Vice President and CFO George Afremow, who will retire in June after 12 years with SEMA.

Liqui Moly Sponsors World’s Largest Porsche 356 Gathering

Promoted annually with the seal of Porsche AG and the Official Porsche Club, the International Porsche 356 Meeting takes place on a rotating basis in several countries.

Sick Week Wins USA Today’s Readers’ Choice for Best Motorsports Race

The week-long event held throughout Florida, plays host to over 350 street cars.

NHRA Names New South Central Division Director

Johnson will oversee NHRA member tracks in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana, Arkansas and Mississippi.

Other Posts

McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown to Receive IMRRC’s Cameron R. Argetsinger Award

Zak Brown, CEO of McLaren Racing, will receive the 10th annual IMRRC Cameron R. Argetsinger Award at a gala presented by Sahlen’s, NASCAR, Watkins Glen International and IMSA, on Thursday, September 12, 2024. The dinner and presentation will be held prior to the running of the NASCAR Go Bowling at The Glen event, September 11-15,

Schaeffler to Support Automotive Transmission Service Group Education

Schaeffler to provide ATSG members with ongoing education and technical resources.

Bryan LaFlam Secures Ownership Stake in BigStuff Total Power Management

LaFlam will work alongside Ben Davidow, who acquired the company in 2021, as co-owner and director of operations.

Mazak to Unveil New and Expanded Product at IMTS 2024

Mazak’s booth will feature a wide range of machines from its Ez, SYNCREX, QUICK TURN, NEO and INTEGREX series this year at IMTS.