IMS Hall of Fame Adds Michael Schumacher, Paul Page - Engine Builder Magazine
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel

Engine News

IMS Hall of Fame Adds Michael Schumacher, Paul Page

Seven-time Formula One World Champion Michael Schumacher and longtime Indianapolis 500 broadcaster Paul Page comprise the 2021 class of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) Hall of Fame.

Click Here to Read More

Schumacher and Page were elected to the IMS Hall of Fame by the distinguished voting panel of 150 motorsports journalists, officials and living Hall of Fame members, chosen from a total of 14 nominees representing the speedway’s diverse history as host to the Indianapolis 500, Brickyard 400, and from 2000-2007, F1’s United States Grand Prix at Indianapolis.

The pair will be honored and officially inducted at the 2021 IMS Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers Dinner presented by Firestone on Thursday, May 27 at the Downtown Indianapolis Marriott.

Schumacher ranks as one of the world’s all-time greatest driving talents, having earned a record-seven F1 World Championships and holding F1 records in nearly every driver-related category during his career. Sadly, in December 2013 the champion driver sustained head injuries while skiing with his family in the French Alps. Schumacher fell, and despite wearing a helmet, suffered severe head injuries. He continues to recover from the accident at his home in Switzerland. In May 2020, Formula One announced that Schumacher was named the most influential person in the sport’s 70-year history, based on fan voting.


Page’s voice is known to motorsports enthusiasts around the world. The Evansville, IN native served as “The Voice of the 500,” or chief announcer, on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network for 13 years, and as a television host and play-by-play voice for Indianapolis 500 coverage on ABC Sports an additional 16 years. He returned to the IMS Radio Network as “Voice of the 500” in 2014-’15 and co-hosted the broadcast of the 100th Indianapolis 500 in 2016 with Mark Jaynes, who took over as the “voice” in 2017 and remains the chief announcer.

Due to the cancellation of the 2020 induction ceremony, the 2020 IMS Hall of Fame inductees–legendary drivers Janet Guthrie and Dale Earnhardt–will be honored at the 2021 event as well.


For more information:

Engine Builder Magazine