National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame Announces 2021 Inductees - Engine Builder Magazine

National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame Announces 2021 Inductees

Danny Frye Sr., Jimmy LaManna, Ken Nichols, Fred ”Jiggs” Peters, Lowell Sachs, and Art Shanoian were announced as the latest inductees into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame. The announcement was made during the USAC National Midget Series event at Angell Park Speedway last weekend.

Frye Sr. was a two-time SLARA Champion who started in the 1940s on the tough Oklahoma-Texas. A great benefactor to midget racing, he helped many up-and-coming young drivers.

LaManna was a three-time Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association Champion, taking the crown in 1961, 1964, and 1965, driving for Sam Rodriguez and Harry Conklin.

Nichols was the 1973 Bay Cities Racing Association Champion known for his dominance on the pavement. He drove for some of the top owners of his day, Bob Rosen, Lenny Gonsel, Art Shanoian, and the Zarounians.

Peters was the 1961 American Racing Drivers Club (ARDC) Champion. He was known for being one of the best long-distance drivers, twice capturing the Trenton 250-miler and 100-milers at Langhorne and Williams Grove. After retirement from driving, he became an official in the sport and an ambassador with numerous historic racing groups.

Sachs was a six-time driver champion, three of which came with the United Racing Association’s blue circuit in 1962, 1963, and 1964 and three with the United States Racing Club (USRC) in 1967, 1968, and 1970.

Shanoian, the 1973 car owner champion with BCRA, competed across four decades. His orange No. 17 Benson Offy was synonymous with winning. He was also known more as a win chaser than a points chaser. He is already in the BCRA Hall of Fame along with Calistoga and Clovis Speedways Halls of Fame.

The 37th annual Luncheon-Induction Ceremony will be held on Friday, January 14, 2022, in conjunction with the Chili Bowl Nationals in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The event will be held at Fair Meadow Hall on the Tulsa Fairgrounds adjacent to the Expo Center hosting the Chili Bowl. In addition, plaques will be on permanent display in the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame at Angell Park Speedway (Sun Prairie, Wisconsin).

You May Also Like

Four Pikes Peak Legends to Earn Hall of Fame Status

Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz will be inducted into the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame on June 20th in Colorado Springs.

The Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame is pleased to announce four outstanding inductees for 2024, Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on June 20th in Colorado Springs.

Founded in 1997, the PPIHC Hall of Fame is committed to honoring and preserving the achievements of individuals and/or organizations who have left an indelible mark on the Race to the Clouds – whether they are competitors, organizers, officials, members of the press or volunteers. Anyone who shares a passion for speed and competition, in addition to a great respect for Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, and plays a role as an ambassador for this famous race is eligible for a Hall of Fame nomination. A new group of inductees is welcomed every other year.

Race Winning Brands Names VP of Transmission Business

Race Winning Brands (RWB), a manufacturer of high-performance components based in Mentor, OH, has appointed Craig Stark as vice president of the transmission business unit. Stark joins the RWB team effective immediately and has experience in spearheading growth in the automotive manufacturing, distribution, and service sectors, including time as vice president of aftermarket sales at

Liberty Media Acquires MotoGP

The sale is worth $4.5 billion, according to the series.

Porsche Motorsport to Launch USAC-Sanctioned Endurance Series

Each round will feature a category for the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car and a class for the Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport.

Moser Engineering Acquires GearFX From Holley

Moser Engineering, a provider of aftermarket driveline products, has acquired GearFX Driveline and its assets from Holley Performance Brands. GearFX assets and production will relocate to Moser Engineering’s facilities in Portland, IN. Related Articles – Fight Against ICE Bans Continue Amid New Emission Laws – McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown Signs Extended Contract – Formula 1

Other Posts

NHRA Has a New Series – Pingel Top Fuel Motorcycle

Top Fuel Motorcycles will officially compete for championship points at four NHRA Mission Food National Events in 2024.

King Bearings Adds Two to its US Sales Team

King Bearings welcomes Steven Washington as director of aftermarket sales and Shane Turner as regional sales manager.

BendPak Founder Don Henthorn Has Passed Away

Henthorn grew BendPak from a small machine shop to a global leader in car lifts and garage equipment.

Lucas Oil Promotes Three Executives to Drive Growth and Development

New roles reflect ongoing strategy to enhance operational efficiency, drive domestic and global sales and expand strategic growth initiatives.