NASCAR Announces Nominees for Hall of Fame Class of 2023, Landmark Award - Engine Builder Magazine
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel

Engine News

NASCAR Announces Nominees for Hall of Fame Class of 2023, Landmark Award

NASCAR has announced the 15 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s (NHOF) Class of 2023, a group that will comprise the first Hall of Fame ballot in two years following the pandemic.  

Click Here to Read More

Lesa France Kennedy joins the Landmark Award ballot, an award given for outstanding contributions to the sport. Award winners are also eligible for NHOF enshrinement. 

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel, comprised of 62 industry professionals, will vote for the Class of 2023 and Landmark Award on Wednesday, May 4. The 63rd vote goes to winners of a Fan Vote (, which is will close on April 29. 

The Modern Era Ballot and Landmark Award nominees were selected by the Nomination Committee, which consists of representatives from NASCAR and the NASCAR Hall of Fame, track owners from major facilities, and historic short tracks. The Honors Committee, primarily comprised of all living Hall of Famers, Landmark Award winners, and Squier-Hall Award winners, selected the Pioneer Ballot. 


Following are the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2023 nominees and Landmark Award nominees: 

Modern Era Ballot 

  • Neil Bonnett, won 18 times in the NASCAR Cup Series including consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories 
  • Tim Brewer, two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief 
  • Jeff Burton, won 21 times in the NASCAR Cup Series including the Southern 500 and two Coca-Cola 600s 
  • Carl Edwards, winner of 28 NASCAR Cup Series races and 2007 Xfinity Series champion 
  • Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, including two Southern 500 victories 
  • Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief 
  • Matt Kenseth, 2003 NASCAR Cup Series champion and winner of 39 Cup races 
  • Larry Phillips, first five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion 
  • Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400 
  • Kirk Shelmerdine, four-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief 

Pioneer Ballot 

  • Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion 
  • AJ Foyt, won seven NASCAR Cup Series races including the 1972 Daytona 500 
  • Banjo Matthews, built cars that won more than 250 NASCAR Cup Series races and three championships 
  • Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR West Series champion 
  • Ralph Moody, two-time NASCAR Cup Series owner champion as the “mechanical genius” of Holman-Moody 

Landmark Award 

  • Janet Guthrie, the first female to compete in a NASCAR Cup Series superspeedway race 
  • Alvin Hawkins, NASCAR’s first flagman; established NASCAR racing at Bowman Gray Stadium with Bill France Sr. 
  • Mike Helton, named third president of NASCAR in 2000; career included track operator roles at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway 
  • Lesa France Kennedy, NASCAR Executive Vice Chair and one of the most influential women in sports 
  • Dr. Joseph Mattioli, founder of Pocono Raceway 

For more information, visit

Engine Builder Magazine