Aric Almirola Wins Inaugural Xfinity Race at Sonoma - Engine Builder Magazine

Aric Almirola Wins Inaugural Xfinity Race at Sonoma

Aric Almirola won Saturday’s inaugural Xfinity Series DoorDash 250 at Sonoma Raceway, marking the fourth victory of his Xfinity Series career, first on a road course, and first win for the RSS Racing team.

“Congratulations to Aric, Rod Sieg, and everyone at RSS Racing and Stewart-Haas Racing on the Xfinity race win at Sonoma” said Doug Yates, President and CEO of Roush Yates Engines. “Aric and his team executed throughout the race to stay up front and be in the position to win at the end. It’s great to win this inaugural event and see the No. 28 in victory lane.”

“I knew that this racetrack, this is one I that can run good at. I’ve run good here my whole career. I don’t know what it is about this place, but I love racing here. I’m just really thankful that they allowed me to run this car and to come here and run with this team and these guys and I’m just so proud of everybody’s hard work. Everybody at Sieg Racing. Everybody at Stewart-Haas Racing for the collaboration and I’m just really thankful.” commented Almirola.

Aric Almirola qualified P4 for Saturday’s DoorDash 250 at the 1.99-mile road course and was one of seven NASCAR Cup Series drivers that entered this event. There were only 2 caution periods throughout the race for a total of 8 laps with 10 lead changes among 6 different drivers. The end of the race was a battle between Almirola, Kyle Larson, and AJ Allmendinger. After a restart on lap 65, Almirola was able to take the lead after restarting in fifth position and hold off a hard-charging Kyle Larson. Almirola took the checkered flag in his No. 28 Ford Mustang, winning over AJ Allmendinger by 1.868 seconds. This victory marks the second in a row for Ford Performance and Roush Yates Engines in the Xfinity Series.

Ford Performance teammate Cole Custer with Stewart-Haas Racing finished P6 posting his eighth consecutive top-10 of the season, while Brett Moffitt with AM Racing finished P12 and Riley Herbst with Stewart-Haas Racing finished P15. 

The NASCAR Cup Series also raced at Sonoma Raceway on Sunday. Team Penske’s Joey Logano finished P3, RFK Racing’s Chris Buescher finished P4, and Front Row Motorsports’ Michael McDowell finished in P7.

Both the NASCAR Xfinity and Cup Series take a one-week break and head to Nashville Superspeedway next weekend.

You May Also Like

SCCA Event Schedule Now Available

The Sports Car Club of America National Championship Runoffs are returning to Road America in Elkhart Lake, WI for 2024 and 2025.

The Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) National Championship Runoffs are returning to Road America in Elkhart Lake, WI for 2024 and 2025. Additionally, the preliminary 2024 qualifying and race schedule has also been released.

Scheduled for September 27 to October 6, several practice days will precede qualifying sessions, which will begin on October 1. All 26 Runoffs classes will feature single-class races from October 4-6. 

Lauri Eberhart Named CEO at Friends of Laguna Seca

Eberhart joins FLS as the group begins assessments of the facility ahead of numerous necessary improvements.

Full Pull’s 2024 Streaming Schedule

The 16-week, 32-session streaming schedule will include commentary, behind-the-scenes content, interviews with class winners, track-side insight, and analysis.

2025 Daytona 500 Logo Unveiled

Logo pays tribute to iconic Harley J. Earl trophy presented to winner of The Great American Race.

SEMA Names Ryan Stutzman as New CFO

Stutzman replaces current Vice President and CFO George Afremow, who will retire in June after 12 years with SEMA.

Other Posts

Liqui Moly Sponsors World’s Largest Porsche 356 Gathering

Promoted annually with the seal of Porsche AG and the Official Porsche Club, the International Porsche 356 Meeting takes place on a rotating basis in several countries.

Sick Week Wins USA Today’s Readers’ Choice for Best Motorsports Race

The week-long event held throughout Florida, plays host to over 350 street cars.

NHRA Names New South Central Division Director

Johnson will oversee NHRA member tracks in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana, Arkansas and Mississippi.

McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown to Receive IMRRC’s Cameron R. Argetsinger Award

Zak Brown, CEO of McLaren Racing, will receive the 10th annual IMRRC Cameron R. Argetsinger Award at a gala presented by Sahlen’s, NASCAR, Watkins Glen International and IMSA, on Thursday, September 12, 2024. The dinner and presentation will be held prior to the running of the NASCAR Go Bowling at The Glen event, September 11-15,