Jimmie Johnson Wins, Crew Chief Chad Knaus Earns Weekly MOOG ‘Problem Solver’ Honors at Kansas Speedway - Engine Builder Magazine

Jimmie Johnson Wins, Crew Chief Chad Knaus Earns Weekly MOOG ‘Problem Solver’ Honors at Kansas Speedway

Jimmie Johnson and crew chief Chad Knaus won this past weekend's NASCAR SpongeBob SquarePants 400 at Kansas Speedway for their Sprint Cup Series-leading third win of the season. Following the race, Knaus received his second “Problem Solver of the Race” award of 2015 from MOOG.



Jimmie Johnson and crew chief Chad Knaus rolled the dice and won in the closing laps of the rain-prolonged NASCAR SpongeBob SquarePants 400 at Kansas Speedway early Sunday morning, as the MOOG Steering and Suspension-equipped No. 48 Lowe’s Chevrolet held on for its Sprint Cup Series-leading third win of the season. Following the race, Knaus received his second “Problem Solver of the Race” award of 2015 from MOOG, the Official Steering and Suspension of NASCAR.

Knaus earned the weekly Problem Solver award based on the 48 Chevrolet’s race-best 0.650-second improvement in average lap time over the second half of the race while finishing on the lead lap. The weekly award and season-ending $100,000 MOOG “Problem Solver of the Year” Award are sponsored by Federal-Mogul Motorparts, a division of Federal-Mogul Holdings Corporation.

After starting 19th, Johnson reported that the Hendrick Motorsports-owned 48 car was “getting looser with every lap.” Knaus called for a series of chassis adjustments that paid immediate dividends, with the Chevrolet SS picking up 14 positions, from 39th to 25th, over the next 12 laps. Johnson advanced into the top 20 by Lap 60, the top 15 by Lap 90, and cracked the top 10 almost immediately following a 2-hour 16-minute rain delay after Lap 98.

Although the 48 car was getting progressively better, Johnson and Knaus felt they needed a strategic edge to beat Kevin Harvick and the MOOG-equipped No. 4 Chevrolet, which had led 53 laps. Their chance came after the race’s final caution with eight laps remaining. Harvick headed to the pits for a splash of fuel and two right-side tires while Johnson and Knaus opted for track position. The gamble paid off as Harvick, who restarted sixth, was able to regain all but the final 0.487-second gap behind Johnson.

“It was an exciting finish with a lot of behind-the-scenes strategy, and chassis setup played a huge role once again,” said Tim Nelson, director of motorsports for Federal-Mogul Motorparts. “Jimmie struggled early but Chad dialed in their MOOG-equipped steering and suspension during that first stop and then kept making it better over the balance of a very long night. Being able to hold off Kevin, who had the faster car and more rubber at the end, was a long shot, but the 48 team played it perfectly.”

For more information: www.moogproblemsolver.com

You May Also Like

2025 Daytona 500 Logo Unveiled

Logo pays tribute to iconic Harley J. Earl trophy presented to winner of The Great American Race.

Daytona International Speedway has unveiled the 2025 Daytona 500 logo, paying tribute to the design roots of speed as it features the iconic Harley J. Earl Trophy front and center. Variations of Harley J. Earl awards were presented to Daytona 500 champions for decades. But, it wasn’t until 1998 that the modern Harley J. Earl Trophy featuring Earl’s Firebird I concept automobile, hand-sculpted by artist John Lajba, atop a black trioval base, was presented in Victory Lane.

SEMA Names Ryan Stutzman as New CFO

Stutzman replaces current Vice President and CFO George Afremow, who will retire in June after 12 years with SEMA.

Liqui Moly Sponsors World’s Largest Porsche 356 Gathering

Promoted annually with the seal of Porsche AG and the Official Porsche Club, the International Porsche 356 Meeting takes place on a rotating basis in several countries.

Sick Week Wins USA Today’s Readers’ Choice for Best Motorsports Race

The week-long event held throughout Florida, plays host to over 350 street cars.

NHRA Names New South Central Division Director

Johnson will oversee NHRA member tracks in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana, Arkansas and Mississippi.

Other Posts

McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown to Receive IMRRC’s Cameron R. Argetsinger Award

Zak Brown, CEO of McLaren Racing, will receive the 10th annual IMRRC Cameron R. Argetsinger Award at a gala presented by Sahlen’s, NASCAR, Watkins Glen International and IMSA, on Thursday, September 12, 2024. The dinner and presentation will be held prior to the running of the NASCAR Go Bowling at The Glen event, September 11-15,

Schaeffler to Support Automotive Transmission Service Group Education

Schaeffler to provide ATSG members with ongoing education and technical resources.

Bryan LaFlam Secures Ownership Stake in BigStuff Total Power Management

LaFlam will work alongside Ben Davidow, who acquired the company in 2021, as co-owner and director of operations.

Mazak to Unveil New and Expanded Product at IMTS 2024

Mazak’s booth will feature a wide range of machines from its Ez, SYNCREX, QUICK TURN, NEO and INTEGREX series this year at IMTS.