Changes Coming for 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Schedule - Engine Builder Magazine
Connect with us
Close Sidebar Panel Open Sidebar Panel

Engine News

Changes Coming for 2020 NASCAR Cup Series Schedule

Most notably next season, NASCAR’s championship will transition from the beaches of Miami to the desert near Phoenix, Arizona, following the renovation and reconfiguration of ISM Raceway.

Advertisement
NASCAR has announced significant, dynamic changes to the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series schedule, with intriguing shifts during both the regular season and the playoffs.
 
Most notably next season, NASCAR’s championship will transition from the beaches of Miami to the desert near Phoenix, Arizona, following the renovation and reconfiguration of ISM Raceway. As part of the new schedule, a champion will be crowned on Sunday, November 8 – a week earlier than in previous seasons. Fans have expressed the desire for more short tracks in the Playoffs, and as a result, the iconic Bristol Night Race will become a part of the 10-week title battle as the first cut-off race on Saturday, September 19.

Bristol will also join the Charlotte Roval (Sunday, October 11) and Martinsville (Sunday, November 1) as cut-off races. Another race rich with history will also join the post-season fold, as the “Lady in Black,” Darlington Raceway, will be the first race of the NASCAR Playoffs on Sunday, September 6 with Las Vegas becoming the first race of the second round on Sunday, September 27.

The Great American Race, the Daytona 500, will once again open the NASCAR season during President’s Day weekend on Sunday, Feb. 16, but NASCAR’s second visit to Daytona will come with much more on the line than in previous seasons. Under the lights on Saturday, Aug. 29, the superspeedway will set the playoffs field as the last regular season race of the year.

Following the Daytona 500, NASCAR’s trip to the West Coast will commence immediately with stops in Las Vegas (Sunday, Feb. 23), Auto Club (Sunday, March 1) and ISM Raceway (Sunday, March 8). Atlanta will move to Sunday, March 15, followed by Miami on Sunday, March 22.
 
Martinsville will also feature a Mother’s Day weekend race, where cars will hit the track under the lights for primetime racing on Saturday, May 9.Pocono Raceway will also make history when it hosts back-to-back premier series events on Saturday, June 27 and Sunday, June 28.

Finally, a tradition continues, with a passing of the baton from one iconic race track to another during the July 4th weekend. Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) moves to a cornerstone weekend on the NASCAR calendar with a race at the Brickyard on July 5, a spot previously occupied by Daytona International Speedway.
Click Here to Read More
Advertisement
Advertisement
Connect
Engine Builder Magazine