2021 Maxxis Tires “Casey Folks” Vegas to Reno Tournament Concludes Aug. 15 - Engine Builder Magazine

2021 Maxxis Tires “Casey Folks” Vegas to Reno Tournament Concludes Aug. 15

The 2021 Maxxis Tires “Casey Folks” Vegas to Reno Presented by Fox featured a record entry of 406 highly-competitive teams who made the event the largest and most ambitious V2R race yet. 

Course conditions were the first topic of conversation for each competitor as they crossed the finish line. Recent thunderstorms and the route selected, including the notoriously grueling final section, made this year’s Vegas to Reno course extremely challenging. With points towards Maxxis Triple Crown prize money at stake, Best In The Desert’s normal purse, and the title of Vegas to Reno champion, racers were throttling hard and fast to be first.

In the end, Dalton Shirey/Jacob Argubright riding a Factory Husqvarna were the first Open Pro Motorcycle team, staving off challenges from Dakar and reigning V2R champ Ricky Brabec and the Kilmartin Racing N1 Hayden Hintz/Trevor Hunter team to take not only the overall motorcycle victory but the outright overall victory in a time of 7:44:10. Shirey/Argubright broke the tie between motorcycles and cars/trucks and earning bragging rights for the record of most overall wins at V2R, now 13 for motorcycles and 12 for cars/trucks.

#N46 Dalton Shirey/Jacob Argubright riding a Factory Husqvarna to win the Open Pro Motorcycle Class and Overall. Photo Cred: Harlen Foley

As for the Car/Truck Class, Ryan Arciero won with a brand new truck in 7:56:49 after his previous one burned to the ground at last year’s V2R. Arciero’s win did not come easy as two-time defending champion Bryce Menzies was hungry and leading overall until Pit 11 where a front differential issue caused him to drop out. Best In The Desert favorite and veteran Trick Truck racer Steve Olliges put in one of the best races of his career coming home second in 8:10:10 edging Black Rifle Coffee’s  BJ Baldwin out by a mere 44 seconds who finished in third place, respectively.

Meanwhile, Brenthel Racing’s Kyle Jergensen was never out of the hunt for the overall, finishing fourth in Trick Trucks. The #1 Concrete Motorsports Thompson/Letner team’s phenomenal streak of overall wins finally came to an end after a rear-start position resulting from a crash in Time Trials put them at a severe disadvantage. However, they still came back to finish seventh in class with a time of 8:32:22; an impressive feat. The 2021 Trick Truck Class was made up of a who’s who of off-road racing, an example of what the off-road racing sport has become. 

Results for all the classes can be found at: https://bitd.com/race-results/

You May Also Like

2025 Daytona 500 Logo Unveiled

Logo pays tribute to iconic Harley J. Earl trophy presented to winner of The Great American Race.

Daytona International Speedway has unveiled the 2025 Daytona 500 logo, paying tribute to the design roots of speed as it features the iconic Harley J. Earl Trophy front and center. Variations of Harley J. Earl awards were presented to Daytona 500 champions for decades. But, it wasn’t until 1998 that the modern Harley J. Earl Trophy featuring Earl’s Firebird I concept automobile, hand-sculpted by artist John Lajba, atop a black trioval base, was presented in Victory Lane.

SEMA Names Ryan Stutzman as New CFO

Stutzman replaces current Vice President and CFO George Afremow, who will retire in June after 12 years with SEMA.

Liqui Moly Sponsors World’s Largest Porsche 356 Gathering

Promoted annually with the seal of Porsche AG and the Official Porsche Club, the International Porsche 356 Meeting takes place on a rotating basis in several countries.

Sick Week Wins USA Today’s Readers’ Choice for Best Motorsports Race

The week-long event held throughout Florida, plays host to over 350 street cars.

NHRA Names New South Central Division Director

Johnson will oversee NHRA member tracks in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana, Arkansas and Mississippi.

Other Posts

McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown to Receive IMRRC’s Cameron R. Argetsinger Award

Zak Brown, CEO of McLaren Racing, will receive the 10th annual IMRRC Cameron R. Argetsinger Award at a gala presented by Sahlen’s, NASCAR, Watkins Glen International and IMSA, on Thursday, September 12, 2024. The dinner and presentation will be held prior to the running of the NASCAR Go Bowling at The Glen event, September 11-15,

Schaeffler to Support Automotive Transmission Service Group Education

Schaeffler to provide ATSG members with ongoing education and technical resources.

Bryan LaFlam Secures Ownership Stake in BigStuff Total Power Management

LaFlam will work alongside Ben Davidow, who acquired the company in 2021, as co-owner and director of operations.

Mazak to Unveil New and Expanded Product at IMTS 2024

Mazak’s booth will feature a wide range of machines from its Ez, SYNCREX, QUICK TURN, NEO and INTEGREX series this year at IMTS.