Multiple Wins for Honda in 2021 Baja 1000 - Engine Builder Magazine

Multiple Wins for Honda in 2021 Baja 1000

The 54th SCORE International Baja 1000 was a success for Honda riders and drivers, with several scoring victories in the grueling, 1,236-mile off-road event, which this year followed the traditional “peninsula run” from Ensenada to La Paz. Elite classes conquered by Honda teams include Pro Moto Unlimited (SLR Honda), Pro UTV Naturally Aspirated (Honda Talon Factory Racing) and Class 7 (Honda Racing Factory Off-Road Team).

For SLR Honda, the Pro Moto Unlimited win was their fourth consecutive triumph in the prestigious race, as well as the record 15th for Honda’s CRF450X. It was also the 31st overall motorcycle win for Honda, including the last seven straight and 24 of the last 25. The first motorcycle started at 2 a.m. on Thursday, and SLR rider Justin Morgan was the fifth bike off the line. He raced until route mile 444, where team owner Mark Samuels took over and raced to mile 816. Kendall Norman then took the bike to mile 999, where he handed it off to Mexican native Brandon Prieto for the final stint. The team took less than a day to complete the race, turning in a winning time of 23 hours, 7 minutes, 18 seconds. It was the sixth win for Samuels, the fourth for Morgan and the seventh for Baja veteran Norman, whose previous victory had come back in 2011.

Baja 1000 – SLR Honda

“I think this year was a really good racecourse because it had a lot of good flow,” Samuels told SCORE at the finish. “It was cool to get back down to the southern part of Baja and race that, because it’s been a while since we got to. I actually really enjoy all the racing down here; it’s not as rough, and it’s pretty fun and flowy. Winning a peninsula run is awesome. I’ve been very close to doing it, and this one feels really good to get here first to the line. It’s a big one to win.”

Also impressive was the private, two-man Honda-mounted Champion Adventures team, with Colton Udall and Derek Ausserbauer battling hard with SLR for the first half of the race before eventually taking their CRF450X to a strong runner-up finish, 1 hour and 15 minutes back. The duo also earned the 1X plate for the season.

While Honda motorcyclists more-or-less invented the Baja 1000, the event is newer for Honda side-by-sides, but that didn’t stop Honda Talon Factory Racing driver Elias Hanna from topping the Pro UTV Normally Aspirated division. An Ensenada native and a Baja-racing veteran, Hanna enlisted co-driving support from Erick Kozin and Bobby Smith, and navigational support from Drew Stanton and Isaac Chapluk. Together, they took the Talon 1000R to the finish line in 29 hours, 18 minutes, 38 seconds. This was the second Baja 1000 win for the team’s Talon, which last year topped the Pro UTV Unlimited category. As if that weren’t enough, team owner Jeff Proctor also drove the Honda Racing Factory Off-Road Ridgeline truck to this year’s finish with a Class 7-winning time of 27 hours, 10 minutes.

“Today is a big day for Honda!” Proctor said. “To bring this Honda Talon to the finish line in the ultra-competitive Pro NA class at the Baja 1000 is surreal! I’m so proud of the efforts this entire team put in to get us here. Elias drove a very smart race and I’m so pleased for him!”

A number of additional, private Honda entries experienced success in the race as well, including a Pro Moto 60-winning team led by Craig Wear, a Pro Moto Limited-winning team led by Christopher Gil, a Pro Quad-winning team led by Oskar Espinoza, a Sportsman Quad-winning team led by David Ortega, and a Pro Quad Ironman-winning effort by Miguel Lopez.

You May Also Like

Four Pikes Peak Legends to Earn Hall of Fame Status

Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz will be inducted into the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame on June 20th in Colorado Springs.

The Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame is pleased to announce four outstanding inductees for 2024, Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on June 20th in Colorado Springs.

Founded in 1997, the PPIHC Hall of Fame is committed to honoring and preserving the achievements of individuals and/or organizations who have left an indelible mark on the Race to the Clouds – whether they are competitors, organizers, officials, members of the press or volunteers. Anyone who shares a passion for speed and competition, in addition to a great respect for Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, and plays a role as an ambassador for this famous race is eligible for a Hall of Fame nomination. A new group of inductees is welcomed every other year.

Race Winning Brands Names VP of Transmission Business

Race Winning Brands (RWB), a manufacturer of high-performance components based in Mentor, OH, has appointed Craig Stark as vice president of the transmission business unit. Stark joins the RWB team effective immediately and has experience in spearheading growth in the automotive manufacturing, distribution, and service sectors, including time as vice president of aftermarket sales at

Liberty Media Acquires MotoGP

The sale is worth $4.5 billion, according to the series.

Porsche Motorsport to Launch USAC-Sanctioned Endurance Series

Each round will feature a category for the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car and a class for the Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport.

Moser Engineering Acquires GearFX From Holley

Moser Engineering, a provider of aftermarket driveline products, has acquired GearFX Driveline and its assets from Holley Performance Brands. GearFX assets and production will relocate to Moser Engineering’s facilities in Portland, IN. Related Articles – Fight Against ICE Bans Continue Amid New Emission Laws – McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown Signs Extended Contract – Formula 1

Other Posts

JBR Engines Shop Tour

JBR Engines is 4-cylinder central, and we love it!

NHRA Has a New Series – Pingel Top Fuel Motorcycle

Top Fuel Motorcycles will officially compete for championship points at four NHRA Mission Food National Events in 2024.

King Bearings Adds Two to its US Sales Team

King Bearings welcomes Steven Washington as director of aftermarket sales and Shane Turner as regional sales manager.

BendPak Founder Don Henthorn Has Passed Away

Henthorn grew BendPak from a small machine shop to a global leader in car lifts and garage equipment.