2023 National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame Class Revealed - Engine Builder Magazine

2023 National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame Class Revealed

Chuck Gurney, Jim Hettinger, Larry Howard, Gene Pastor, Stevie Reeves and Roy Richter have been announced as the latest inductees into the National Midget Auto Racing Hall of Fame.

Gurney was a two-time winner of the Copper World Classic Midget race at Phoenix International Raceway in 1992 and 1994 as well as a two-time winner of the Turkey Night Grand Prix at Ascot Park in 1988-89 and a one-time victor of the Belleville Nationals in 1989.

Hettinger won championships with the Wide World of Auto Racing (WWAR) in 1984, the National Alliance of Midget Auto Racing (NAMAR) in 1984 and the Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) in 1990. His career spanned a little over four decades, winning over 126 features.

Howard was one of the premier car owners between the late 1970s and early 1990s. His cars won six times in the Turkey Night Grand Prix between 1979-89 with Ron Shuman taking four-straight in 1979-80-81-82 and Chuck Gurney winning two in 1988-89. Howard also won the Bellville Nationals in 1989 with Gurney at the wheel.

After Pastor retired from driving in 1979, he became a well-respected official with the Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association (RMMRA) and the American Independent Midget Series (AIMS), serving as flagman, Director of Competition and was a member of their Board of Directors. He also worked with the Southwest Independent Midget Series (SWIMS) tour and the Belleville Nationals.

Reeves captured back-to-back USAC National Midget driving championships in 1992 and 1993. He won in his first ever USAC National Midget start in 1987 at Lawrenceburg (Ind.) Speedway, and in 1991, he scored three major wins at Phoenix International Raceway’s Copper World Classic, Angell Park Speedway’s Pepsi Firemen’s Nationals and the Terre Haute Action Track’s Hut 100.

Richter was the founder of Bell Helmets, which was the first safety-certified head protection in midget racing. He was an excellent fabricator, building and designing midgets driven by Sam Hanks and Freddie Agabashian to many victories. Richter was also a founding member of SEMA.

You May Also Like

2025 Daytona 500 Logo Unveiled

Logo pays tribute to iconic Harley J. Earl trophy presented to winner of The Great American Race.

Daytona International Speedway has unveiled the 2025 Daytona 500 logo, paying tribute to the design roots of speed as it features the iconic Harley J. Earl Trophy front and center. Variations of Harley J. Earl awards were presented to Daytona 500 champions for decades. But, it wasn’t until 1998 that the modern Harley J. Earl Trophy featuring Earl’s Firebird I concept automobile, hand-sculpted by artist John Lajba, atop a black trioval base, was presented in Victory Lane.

SEMA Names Ryan Stutzman as New CFO

Stutzman replaces current Vice President and CFO George Afremow, who will retire in June after 12 years with SEMA.

Liqui Moly Sponsors World’s Largest Porsche 356 Gathering

Promoted annually with the seal of Porsche AG and the Official Porsche Club, the International Porsche 356 Meeting takes place on a rotating basis in several countries.

Sick Week Wins USA Today’s Readers’ Choice for Best Motorsports Race

The week-long event held throughout Florida, plays host to over 350 street cars.

NHRA Names New South Central Division Director

Johnson will oversee NHRA member tracks in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico, Louisiana, Arkansas and Mississippi.

Other Posts

McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown to Receive IMRRC’s Cameron R. Argetsinger Award

Zak Brown, CEO of McLaren Racing, will receive the 10th annual IMRRC Cameron R. Argetsinger Award at a gala presented by Sahlen’s, NASCAR, Watkins Glen International and IMSA, on Thursday, September 12, 2024. The dinner and presentation will be held prior to the running of the NASCAR Go Bowling at The Glen event, September 11-15,

Schaeffler to Support Automotive Transmission Service Group Education

Schaeffler to provide ATSG members with ongoing education and technical resources.

Bryan LaFlam Secures Ownership Stake in BigStuff Total Power Management

LaFlam will work alongside Ben Davidow, who acquired the company in 2021, as co-owner and director of operations.

Mazak to Unveil New and Expanded Product at IMTS 2024

Mazak’s booth will feature a wide range of machines from its Ez, SYNCREX, QUICK TURN, NEO and INTEGREX series this year at IMTS.