The Royal Automobile Club presents Segrave Trophy to Pikes Peak winner Robin Shute - Engine Builder Magazine

The Royal Automobile Club presents Segrave Trophy to Pikes Peak winner Robin Shute

The Royal Automobile Club has awarded the Segrave Trophy to racer Robin Shute for being the only Brit to have overall victory at Pikes Peak.

The Royal Automobile Club has presented the prestigious Segrave Trophy to hillclimb racer Robin Shute for being the first and only British driver to have claimed overall victory at Pikes Peak.

The Nominations Committee had chosen Shute to be the latest recipient of the Trophy – which is awarded to a British subject who demonstrates ‘the spirit of adventure’ – even before he added a third Pikes Peak win in June 2022. There are certainly few adventures in the motorsport world that can match the fearsome Colorado hillclimb, which is held on a 12.42-mile course that climbs through 156 dramatic turns to an altitude of 14,115ft at the summit finish line. There must be even fewer events for which the intrepid drivers need an oxygen supply.

Speaking at the presentation lunch, Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club, said: ‘We are delighted to present the Segrave Trophy for 2021 to Robin Shute in recognition of his achievements at Pikes Peak. It was Lady Segrave’s wish that the trophy should celebrate those who have shown outstanding skill, courage and initiative, and there can be no doubt that Robin has done exactly that in conquering the unique challenge to become ‘King of the Mountain’. The fact that he has added a third victory this year is even more impressive.’ 

Norfolk-born Shute took his latest win in what was the 100th running of the legendary American hillclimb – in the process overcoming cold and wet conditions, as well as thick cloud towards the summit. Having set the fastest-ever qualifying time for an internal combustion car, Shute was in a class of his own aboard his 550bhp, 2.1-litre Wolf TSC-FS, and his time of 10 minutes 9.525 seconds was 25 seconds clear of his nearest competitor.

Previous winners at Pikes Peak have included the likes of 1978 Formula 1 World Champion Mario Andretti, and rally legends Michele Mouton, Walter Röhrl, Ari Vatanen and Sébastien Loeb.

Shute said: ‘Receiving this prestigious award is a huge honour. There are so many great names among the past winners and – as someone who has a passion for speed records – I have an enormous amount of respect for Sir Henry Segrave and everything that he achieved. To win a trophy awarded in his honour is very special.’ 

You May Also Like

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Releases 2025 Speedweeks Schedule

The three-track slate starts at Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, GA with on-track action at the speedway from January 14-18.

The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series has released the schedule for its 2025 Speedweeks. The three-track slate starts at Golden Isles Speedway in Brunswick, GA with on-track action at the speedway from January 14-18, culminating in a $25,000-to-win finale on January 18.

From there, the tour will head south to All-Tech Raceway in Lake City, FL, which will host three nights of racing from January 30 through February 1.

Haltech, Race Winning Brands Add Support in Australia

Race Winning Brands has appointed Aaron Brookes as Haltech’s new business development manager in Australia.

Ferrari Wins Back-to-Back 24 Hours of Le Mans

The No. 50 Ferrari beat the No. 7 Toyota to the finish line by 14 seconds after 24 hours of racing.

AAM Group Hires David Garmenn to Lead Engine Pro Group

The Johnson City, TN-based distribution group has selected David Garmenn to serve as president of Engine Pro Group and vice president of Engine Pro.

Reno Fernley Raceway to Reopen

In addition to the 3/8-mile clay oval, the 630-acre facility will also host road racing, motocross events, drag racing, a UTV short course, and more.

Other Posts

Skip Barber Formula iRacing Series Returns

The five-round championship will begin in July and feature drivers competing in iRacing’s Formula 4 car for a prize pool valued at more than $500,000.

Blackstone-NEY Ultrasonics to Show Multi-Frequency System at IMTS

The Multi-Frequency Ultrasonic Cleaning System utilizes advanced technology to deliver superior cleaning results without compromising on quality.

Firepunk Diesel Race Team Sets New Pro Mod Records

Firepunk Diesel’s 1970 Duster is now quickest and fastest with an ET of 4.101 and a recorded 194.41 mph.

Rottler and Pat Musi Team Up on Innovation

Goals of the innovation project include reducing time and labor costs while improving the build quality, and developing new engineering and machining techniques.