David Donohue Sets Time Attack 1 Qualifying Record at Pikes Peak  - Engine Builder Magazine

David Donohue Sets Time Attack 1 Qualifying Record at Pikes Peak 

Colorado Springs, Colorado – It’s Race Week and the 101st Running of the Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, brought to you by Gran Turismo is gearing up. The first day of practice and qualifying took place early this morning as 66 drivers got their first look at the mountain in one of three sections.

LOWER SECTION – Qualifying took place on the lower section for the Porsche Pikes Peak Trophy by Yokohama division and the Time Attack 1 competitors.

Brumos Racing was out in front in the Time Attack 1 division with West Chester, Pennsylvania’s David Donohue behind the wheel of the iconic #59 2019 Porsche GT2 RS Clubsport. Donohue clocked a new TA1 qualifying record of 03:53.618, besting his 2022 record of 03:55.750.

Two PPIHC rookies laid down the fastest times in the Porsche Pikes Peak Trophy by Yokohama division. Hayden Bradley, racing out of St. Petersburg, Florida, and the youngest competitor in the field at 18 years old, was the division’s top qualifier with a time of 04:27.091 in his #727 2020 Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport. Nuno Caetano of Lisbon, Portugal clocked a qualifying time just seconds behind Bradley in his #77 2020 Porsche Cayman Clubsport in 04:31.519. The division qualifying record was set by Tanner Foust in 2021 in 04:21.277.

MIDDLE SECTION – The Exhibition and Open Wheel divisions made their practice runs on the middle section. Randy Pobst ran fastest in the Exhibition division, just one second ahead of Tanner Foust and the Radford entry. Former Parade of Champions driver, Matt Mullins, was the fastest rookie in the same group.

Woodland Park’s Codie Vahsholtz outpaced the other Open Wheel competitors, with PPIHC rookie Sylas Montgomery bringing his former Silver Crown racer, a MFG Road Course Sprint Car to the same division.

UPPER SECTION – The wind in the upper section, along with plenty of snow, reminded drivers it isn’t quite springtime at 14,115 feet. Competitors in the Pikes Peak Open and Unlimited divisions braced for the chill as they warmed their tires in anticipation of their runs. Reigning course record holder, Romain Dumas, returned to the mountain in the 2023 Ford Performance SuperVan 4 and clocked the fastest time in the upper section in 02:24.73 – fourteen seconds ahead of fellow Frenchman, Raphael Astier, in the A110 Alpine GT4 Evo. The division’s only PPIHC Rookie, Satoshi Yagi of Japan had his first taste of the mountain, completing three practice runs.

Robin Shute, three-time King of the Mountain, proved he still has what it takes to send his 2018 Wolf TSC-FS through the upper section turns. Shute’s fast time on the upper section topped the Unlimited division, with Dan Novembre, also in a Wolf, running only five seconds off Shute’s pace. PPIHC Rookie, Duncan Cowper, from Great Britain in the Alcon Brake entry, a 2018 Cowper Dax Rush Pikes Peak Special, was the fastest rookie among the Unlimited competitors.

Competitors will rotate sections on Wednesday. Pikes Peak Open and Unlimited will qualify on the lower section. Porsche Pikes Peak Trophy by Yokohama and Time Attack 1 move to the middle, and Exhibition and Open Wheel drivers challenge the upper section.

You May Also Like

Women with Drive Event Planned for 2024 Pikes Peak

Women with Drive event will feature a panel discussion and reception at the U.S. Olympic and Paralympic Museum in Colorado Springs on June 21.

Women in Motorsports North America (WIMNA) and Parity, the sports marketing and sponsorship platform dedicated to closing the gender income and opportunity gap in professional sports, have announced the latest edition of their collaborative event series Women with Drive: Pikes Peak, presented by RBC Wealth Management. The event will celebrate that for the first time in history, the PPIHC will feature six women drivers: Mary Barker, Ryan Cheek, Laura Hayes, Katherine Legge, Kathryn Mead, and Loni Unser. 

Virginia Disassociates from California Emissions Standards and ICE Ban

Elected in 2021, Youngkin campaigned on repealing California’s standards and pledged to follow through during his 2023 State of the Commonwealth address.

Babcox Media Appoints Tom Pecka Director of Strategic Partnerships

Pecka will oversee the development and execution of strategic media partnerships and sponsorships, as well as enhance media activations across the company’s media channels.

Mazak Celebrates 50 Years of Manufacturing in Kentucky

Mazak technology, service and support has helped manufacturers overcome their toughest challenges for the past 50 years and will continue to do so well into the future.

SEMA Battle of the Builders Enters Second Decade of Competition

Now in its 11th year, SEMA Battle of the Builders is a vehicle competition providing an international platform for SEMA Show builders to showcase their ingenuity.

Other Posts

Pat Symonds Joins Andretti’s Formula 1 Effort

Symonds most recently served as chief technical officer for Formula 1 and will officially join Andretti Cadillac at its new Silverstone, England operations.

NTPA’s Hot Shot’s Secret Challenge is Back for a Second Season

The NTPA’s Hot Shot’s Secret Challenge gives competitors a chance at over $30,000 in payout to the top three-point earners per division.

Sunnen Earns President’s E Star Award for Third Time

Sunnen was one of 13 entities to receive the E Star Award for a significant contribution to the expansion of U.S. exports.

Charlotte Motor Speedway Names Greg Walter President

Walter oversees daily operations of the facility, which includes the 1.5-mile superspeedway, the zMAX Dragway, and The Dirt Track at Charlotte.