Herzog Motorsports Honored at Speedway Motors Museum of American Speed - Engine Builder Magazine

Herzog Motorsports Honored at Speedway Motors Museum of American Speed

On Oct. 15-16, Speedway Motors Museum of American Speed marked the opening of the Herzog Motorsports Racing Collection with a two-day celebration commemorating the Herzog family’s legacy in the sport and kicked off a long-term display of iconic cars and trucks that raced under the Herzog Motorsports banner in the 1980s through the 2000s. Festivities included a private gala Friday evening, ground-breaking ceremony, and public celebration Saturday during Cars & Coffee. 

Renowned motorsports reporter Rick Benjamin served as M.C. for the weekend’s festivities which included screenings of clips from the one-hour documentary, “Patrons of Horsepower,” produced by Benjamin that aired on the FOX Sports networks earlier this month, and panel discussions with racing legends who competed under the Herzog banner. 

Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, who joined Herzog Motorsports in 1996 and raced for them in off-road, American Speed Association (ASA) and NASCAR competition through 2001, took part in the celebration.

“Bill, Stan and Randy are like fathers to me. I spent so much time with them, at the start of my professional career which they had so much to do with. I was very fortunate to know the right people in the beginning and that opened the right doors for me,” said Johnson. “I’m excited to see them honored with the opening of the Herzog Motorsports Racing Collection at Speedway Motors Museum of American Speed.”

A number of other motorsports legends who raced under the Herzog Motorsports banner also participated in the celebration, including George Wagenblast, Dave Mason, Danny Ashcraft, Scott Douglas and Larry Ragland. Herb Fishel, head of GM Racing at the time, also gave tribute.

The exhibit, which is part of a 90,000-square-foot expansion, features Herzog memorabilia, race vehicles including Baja and Pikes Peak-winning trucks, as well as Johnson’s NASCAR Busch Series and ASA Monte Carlos. The vehicles on display include:

·         1989 Ford Bronco II Baja Truck, driven by Danny Ashcraft

·         1998 Chevrolet Silverado Vortec Baja Truck 

·         2000 Chevrolet Trailblazer Vortec Baja Truck – winner of the 2000 Baja 500 and 3rd overall in the Baja 1000 in


·         GMC Jimmy Vortec Pikes Peak Truck, driven by Larry Ragland – Pikes Peak International Hill Climb Overall

Winner in 2000

·         1999 ASA NASCAR #44 Pennzoil Monte Carlo, driven by Jimmie Johnson – 1st win in a season where he

racked up two wins and finished 3rd in the series

·         2000 NASCAR Busch Series No. 92 AllTel Monte Carlo, driven by Jimmie Johnson

·         2001 NASCAR Busch Series No. 92 Excedrin Monte Carlo, driven by Jimmie Johnson

·         1957 Chevy Gasser, from Stan Herzog’s personal collection – featured on the cover of the August 2000 issue

of Hot Rod Magazine and formerly owned by baseball great and classic car collector Reggie Jackson

·         1966 Pontiac Catalina, from Randy Herzog’s personal collection

“It’s such an honor to see the Herzog Motorsports racing legacy and some of the first vehicles I ever raced on display at the Speedway Motors Museum of American Speed,” Johnson added. 

A ground-breaking ceremony was also held Saturday during Cars & Coffee. In addition to the in-kind contribution and donations of collections, the museum has received significant financial commitments for the expansion from Herzog Motorsports, LeRoy Beyers and Speedway Motors. 

You May Also Like

Four Pikes Peak Legends to Earn Hall of Fame Status

Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz will be inducted into the Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame on June 20th in Colorado Springs.

The Pikes Peak Hill Climb Museum Hall of Fame is pleased to announce four outstanding inductees for 2024, Ari Vatanen, Beck Bechtelheimer, Clint Vahsholtz and Ted Foltz. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place on June 20th in Colorado Springs.

Founded in 1997, the PPIHC Hall of Fame is committed to honoring and preserving the achievements of individuals and/or organizations who have left an indelible mark on the Race to the Clouds – whether they are competitors, organizers, officials, members of the press or volunteers. Anyone who shares a passion for speed and competition, in addition to a great respect for Pikes Peak – America’s Mountain, and plays a role as an ambassador for this famous race is eligible for a Hall of Fame nomination. A new group of inductees is welcomed every other year.

Race Winning Brands Names VP of Transmission Business

Race Winning Brands (RWB), a manufacturer of high-performance components based in Mentor, OH, has appointed Craig Stark as vice president of the transmission business unit. Stark joins the RWB team effective immediately and has experience in spearheading growth in the automotive manufacturing, distribution, and service sectors, including time as vice president of aftermarket sales at

Liberty Media Acquires MotoGP

The sale is worth $4.5 billion, according to the series.

Porsche Motorsport to Launch USAC-Sanctioned Endurance Series

Each round will feature a category for the Porsche 911 GT3 Cup car and a class for the Porsche 718 Cayman GT4 RS Clubsport.

Moser Engineering Acquires GearFX From Holley

Moser Engineering, a provider of aftermarket driveline products, has acquired GearFX Driveline and its assets from Holley Performance Brands. GearFX assets and production will relocate to Moser Engineering’s facilities in Portland, IN. Related Articles – Fight Against ICE Bans Continue Amid New Emission Laws – McLaren Racing’s Zak Brown Signs Extended Contract – Formula 1

Other Posts

NHRA Has a New Series – Pingel Top Fuel Motorcycle

Top Fuel Motorcycles will officially compete for championship points at four NHRA Mission Food National Events in 2024.

King Bearings Adds Two to its US Sales Team

King Bearings welcomes Steven Washington as director of aftermarket sales and Shane Turner as regional sales manager.

BendPak Founder Don Henthorn Has Passed Away

Henthorn grew BendPak from a small machine shop to a global leader in car lifts and garage equipment.

Lucas Oil Promotes Three Executives to Drive Growth and Development

New roles reflect ongoing strategy to enhance operational efficiency, drive domestic and global sales and expand strategic growth initiatives.